Steps to the Priesthood

At Immaculate Heart Seminary a seminarian spends approximately 8 years preparing for the priesthood.


Levels of Holy Orders

Tonsure: ceremony in which one is received into the clerical state by having the hair shorn on the crown of the head

Minor Orders:
The Porter receives the right to guard over the church doors.
The Lector receives the right to read certain passages of Holy Scripture during Mass.
The Exorcist receive the right to exorcize evil spirits with permission of the bishop.
The Acolyte receives the right to carry the candles and give the wine and water at Holy Mass.

Major Orders:
Subdiaconate: gives the right to present the water at a Solemn High Mass, to sing the Epistle, to bring the sacred vessels to the altar, to hold the paten during the Canon; it binds the ordinand to perpetual celibacy and the daily recitation of the Divine Office.

Diaconate: gives the ordinand, with permission, the right to preach, distribute Holy Communion, and to solemnly baptize as well as to assist the priest at Holy Mass.

Priesthood: imprints an indelible mark upon the soul and gives the power to change bread and wine into the Body and Blood of Christ in the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass, and to forgive sins in the Sacrament of Penance.

Steps to the Brotherhood

The training of a Brother in the Congregation of St. Pius V:


Daily Schedule at the Seminary (for priests, seminarians, and brothers)

5:30 Rise
6:00 Angelus, Prime, meditation
7:00 Holy Mass followed by fifteen minutes thanksgiving
8:15 Breakfast and chores
9:00 Classes / study / work
11:45 Sext / Particular Examination of Conscience
12:00 Angelus
12:15 Lunch and Recreation
1:35 Rosary
2:00 Classes / study / work
5:00 Holy Hour with Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament
6:15 Dinner and Recreation
7:30 Study
8:05 Spiritual Reading
8:45 Examination of Conscience followed by Compline
9:45 Lights Out